It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:52 pm

High-Precision Sigma_Coulex / Sigma_Rutherford

For questions about manipulating Gosia for non-standard problems, work-arounds, etc.

High-Precision Sigma_Coulex / Sigma_Rutherford

Postby JMAllmond » Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:51 pm

I've a question about GOSIA regarding ratios of Sigma_Coulex(2+) / Sigma_Rutherford = Sigma_Rutherford * P(2+) / Sigma_Rutherford = P(2+); this is for a simple two-state system like that of 124Sn (0+ ground and 2+ first excited state). i.e., I'm studying 124Sn on a 12C target!

When I calculate Sigma_Coulex(2+) and Sigma_Rutherford with NCM=2 (lab ---(inelastic)--->cm) versus Sigma_Coulex(2+) and Sigma_Rutherford with NCM=1 (lab ---(elastic)--->cm), the cross sections change as one would expect but the ratios, Sigma_Coulex(2+)/Sigma_Rutherford, remain unchanged. According to the GOSIA manual (and according to what one would logically think), it seems that one should calculate Sigma_Coulex(2+) with NCM=2 and Sigma_Rutherford with NCM=1; this gives a Sigma_Coulex(2+)/Sigma_Rutherford ratio that is nearly 3% to 5% different than if the NCM flags were the same for both calculations.